Thank You for Your 2019 Brownie Awards Nominations!

Our sincerest thanks to everyone who submitted a nomination for the 2019 Brownie Awards. If you missed the deadline, it's not too early to send in your nomination for the 2020 Awards - we are now accepting nominations for 2020 in the six project/program categories and the Brownfielder of the Year. Download links are:

Brownie Award Categories

Category 1:  REPROGRAM - Legislation, Policy and Program Initiatives

Projects or programs that:

  • Remove barriers and/or facilitate brownfield redevelopment, reinvestment and regeneration
  • Provide models of excellence that can be applied or replicated by provincial, regional or municipal governments
  • Stimulate new investment or facilitate collaborative partnerships to implement vision for intensification and improved ROI for public funds
Category 2:  REMEDIATE - Sustainable Remediation and Technological Innovation

Projects or programs that:

  • Demonstrate leadership and innovation in environmental soil remediation
  • Promote economic in-situ solutions that avoid broader environmental impacts
  • Incorporate ecological principles through pilots designed to go mainstream
  • Encourage use of innovative, cost-effective technologies that shift perceptions in the marketplace
Category 3:  REINVEST - Financing, Risk Management and Partnerships

Projects or programs that:

  • Rely on innovative approaches to obtain capital financing for the purposes of economic and ecological regeneration (i.e. use of public/private partnerships), public incentives to leverage investment
  • Facilitate innovative solutions to mitigating process risk
Category 4:  REBUILD - Redevelopment at the Local, Site Scale

Projects or programs that:

  • Demonstrate excellence in site specific responses to public policy initiatives that accelerate the pace of regeneration resulting from development
  • Promote an enhanced public realm; successfully leverage opportunities for collaboration and policy integration across different sectors
  • Combine imaginative adaptive reuse of heritage structures that promote health and well-being
Category 5:  RENEW - Redevelopment at the Community Scale

Projects or programs that:

  • Stimulate neighbourhood-scale reinvestment
  • Use adaptive reuse of heritage and other structures to encourage integrated multi-phased redevelopment
  • Demonstrate high levels of collaboration; inspire many land owners and investors to engage with community support of a shared vision
  • Promote comprehensive neighbourhood transformation by re-envisioning the public realm, and improving functionality, liveability and character
Category 6:  REACH OUT - Communication, Marketing and Public Engagement

Projects or programs that:

  • Successfully package municipal reinvestment plans and programs for regeneration and/or brownfields redevelopment in support of a community’s competitiveness and long-term sustainability
  • Demonstrate innovative approaches to build support for public/private investment and development designed to achieve intensification through redevelopment, regeneration and other reinvestment strategies
  • Introduce a brand that enhances acceptance and understanding of brownfield redevelopment, regeneration and reinvestment
Category 7:  Brownfielder of the Year

The judges also give three additional Awards - best large project, best small project and best overall project.  All nominated projects are eligible for these categories.  

Brownie Awards Gala

The 2019 Brownie Awards Gala will be held at the Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto Tuesday, November 26th.  Building on the success of last year's event, we know the evening will be another huge success. Join us in celebrating 20 years of brownfield success! For tickets and sponsorship, please contact Nick Krukowski of Actual Media by email or by phone (416-44405842, extension 101).

The Canadian Brownfields Network and Actual Media would like to thank the 2019 Brownie Awards judging panel:

  • Monisha Nandi, Environmental Director, Kilmer Brownfields Management Ltd., Chair of the Judging Panel
  • Eric K. Pringle, Regional Manager - Western Canada, Milestone Environmental Contracting
  • Chris de Sousa, Director & Professor, School of Urban & Regional Planning, Ryerson University
  • Pamela Kraft, Head - Property, Planning and Development, Toronto Transit Commission/Ontario Professional Planners Institute
  • Krista Barfoot, Brownfield Redevelopment Specialist
  • Stéphanie Bohdanow, Knowledge Services Advisor, Federation of Canadian Municipalities - Green Municipal Fund
  • Glenn Miller, Associate - Research, Canadian Urban Institute
  • Katie Kurtin, Senior Vice-President and Treasurer, Ontario Association of Architects
  • Andrew Macklin, Editor, ReNew Canada 
  • D. Grant Walsom, Partner,XCG Consulting Ltd.


2019 Brownie Awards – Presented by:
2018 Brownie Award Sponsors


© 2019 Canadian Brownfields Network. All rights reserved.